Its 3 AM and I’m Still Awake….

It’s 3 AM and I’m still up because of my 20-minute power nap I took after work.

As many of you many have noticed, I have slowed down quite a bit on my posts these past few weeks. Now that I am working full-time and on top of that, taking online classes as a full-time student, it’s been hard to find the time to blog, let alone do any cooking/baking. It’s definitely going to take me another week or two to get used to my new schedule, but I assure you..I will be back with more consistent posts sooner than later!

As I sit here, wishing I was sound asleep, I figure that I might as well do a post on the benefits of sleep….

  • Sleep helps to repair your body: Your body produces extra protein molecules while you’re sleeping that helps strengthen your ability to fight infection and stay healthy. These molecules help your immune system mend your body at a cellular level when you are stressed or have been exposed to compromising elements such as pollutants and infectious bacteria
  • Sleep reduces stress: Sleep helps lower blood pressure and elevated levels of stress hormones, not to mention it speeds up your aging process (for all of you slathering on those anti-aging face creams, try getting a few extra hours a sleep a night)!
  • Sleep improves memory: With more sleep, your brain is able to better process new experiences and knowledge, increasing your understanding and retention (all of you college students pulling all-nighters before finals and other exams, a few hours of sleep will without a doubt help you recall all of the information you crammed in the night before).
  • Sleep helps maintain a healthy heart: Sleep helps reduce of inflammation in your blood, which helps reduce pressure in your cardiovascular system.
  • Sleep aids in weight loss: sleep helps regulate the hormones that affect your appetite. Studies have shown that people who get less than the recommended hours of sleep a high are more prone to unhealthy eating habits. Check the chart below for the recommended hours of sleep one should get.
Because I haven’t had too much time to try out any new recipes, heres one of my favorite snacks that can be eaten as a breakfast cake/dessert/midday snack….

100% oil free -100% dairy free – 100% vegan-100% DELIGHTFUL

Tofu Banana Bars 

Click here to be redirected to the actual post

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup silken tofu (regular tofu would work too)
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp rum extract
  • 2 large ripe bananas (mashed)
  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup sweetened flake coconut

For topping:

  • 1/3 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 F degrees.
  • Blend the tofu in a blender until smooth. Remove the mashed tofu into a bowl
  • Add the sugar and whisk until well mixed. Add the vanilla, rum, mashed bananas, and stir until everything is well incorporated.
  • In a separate bowl, mix the dry ingredients (flour, baking powder, and salt ). Add the coconut.
  • Pour the tofu/banana mix into the dry ingredients. Mix well but don’t over mix or else the bars will bake to become tough.
  • Pour into well-greased baking dish and bake for 25-30 minutes (until toothpicks come out clean)
  • Meanwhile make the powdered sugar/cinnamon topping. Set aside.
  • Remove from the oven. Sprinkle (generously) the mixture of powdered sugar and cinnamon over the bars
2 responses to “Its 3 AM and I’m Still Awake….

  1. Hi Jane

    Finally a new post ! YAY 🙂
    I always come here to get the delicious & healthy recipes, but I was wondering where you were these past few weeks !
    I work full-time too so i know how hard it can be to find the time to blog.

    Well, I’ll be awaiting on ur next recipes!

    Best,
    Julie

  2. Sleep is really what I need more of lately as well. I can definitely relate to you in terms of struggling to find time to blog and other fun stuff. Hope you’ll be able to find that balance in your lifestyle soon and blog more!

Leave a Reply

