Sunday Afternoon Bliss

Sunday late afternoons are always so pleasant. I am currently laying on my bed, enjoying a small slice of this delectable yogurt cake with saffron tea and listening Bon Iver’s new album (it’s by far my favorite album of his)! I made this cake yesterday and am so pleased with it. It’s simple, tangy, fluffy, and a perfect afternoon treat. It’s not too sweet so it can be enjoyed in the morning as well with a cup of coffee.  The only thing that could make this moment better is if I had a fresh bowl of berries to top it with….

Lemon Yogurt Cake 

Cake:

  • 1 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup plain yogurt (I used regular yogurt, but I’m sure Greek yogurt would work too
  • 1 cup sugar
  • Pinch of ground nutmeg (~1/16th tsp)
  • 3 large eggs
  • 2 tsp lemon zest (grated)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil

Cake Topping:

  • 1/3 cup  lemon juice (freshly squeezed)
  • 1/3 cup white sugar

Glaze:

  • 1 cup confectioners’ sugar (powdered sugar)
  • 2 1/2 tbsp lemon juice (freshly squeezed)

Directions:

  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees
  • In a medium sized bowl, mix together the dry ingredients (Flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, nutmeg)
  • In a separate bowl, mix together the wet ingredients except the coconut oil (yogurt,  eggs, lemon zest , vanilla).
  • Mix the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients and mix until well-incorporated. Fold in the coconut oil and mix.
  • Pour the batter into a well-greased baking pan and bake for ~50 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean from the center of the cake.
  • Meanwhile, in a small pot, make the cake topping by heat up the 1/3 cup white sugar and the 1/3 cup lemon juice over medium-low heat. Cook until the sugar is dissolved and the mixture appears clear (be careful not to burn)! Remove from heat and set aside.
  • When the cake appears to be done, remove from the oven and allow it to cool for ~8 minutes. While the cake is still warm, pour the cake topping (lemon/sugar mixture) over the cake and allow it to soak into the cake.
  • Make the glaze by mixing 1 cup of confectioner’s sugar and 2 1/2 tbsp freshly squeezed lemon juice. Once it is of even consistency, pour it over the cake and allow it to set it.

My sister even bought the house flowers yesterday. it’s amazing how flowers can completely change up the atmosphere of a room!

4 responses to “Sunday Afternoon Bliss

  1. Hello Jane! Your blog has inspired me to treat my body better. I’m a student at the CIA and before your site I was obsessed with food that just taste good. Recently I noticed a difference between eating good food (good for your body not just taste buds) and the not so good for you food. I actually perform better at crazy school hours and not so groggy like I used to be. I will be visiting your site more frequently for new ideas on breakfast, snack and dinner :). Thank you for blogging about how to take care of yourself from the inside out.
    -Lan

  2. This cake looks AMAZING and I’m dying to try it, however, I’m wondering if there is any other kind of oil I can use besides coconut. I truly don’t like coconut and the taste of it would certainly ruin the cake experience for me. I’m hoping you can suggest a substitute for that and when/if you do, I will be making this right away! Thanks so much!

  3. oh my gosh!! I can’t wait to try this!!! I miss living in San Francisco so much and going to trader joe’s…. we dont have that in the UK! Thank you so much for posting all the amazing recipes!!

  4. Pingback: Crockpot Cake Adventure « little sacred space·

Leave a Reply

