Go, Go, Go!

Good morning everyone! Although this week has been crazy with final exams and projects, I have still managed to get up for my morning spin class (I think the motivation is in the fact that I know that I will be eating a lot of good food next week in New York). Many of you have been asking me questions about my spin class and why I enjoy it so much. Although I love to run, at times I find it difficult, and almost impossible motivate myself to go the distance that I want to go, especially when I am running by myself. For those of you who find it hard to stay motivated on your own, I highly recommend SPIN class. I started spinning about a year and a half ago, when I happened to stumble into my gym’s 6am class, and  ever since that day, I’ve been HOOKED. With music pumping, beats vibrating, the instructor generally yelling, and bodies sweating, I often find spin class to be like a night club. The energy inside a spin room is contagious and before you know it, you will be rockkkin’ and groooovin’! Here are some basic benefits to spin

Benefits of Spinning Cycling Class: 

Burn, Burn, Burn Those Calories!: Spin is great for those of you trying to shed those pounds! Doing a 30 minute workout will burn up to 500 calories (depending on the speed and resistance you are going at)! Spin is known to burn the most amount of calories in comparison with other forms of exercise, and yes, this also includes running on the treadmill! Many people don’t think that spin looks challenging however, with your resistance cranked up and a few out-of-saddle sprints, your heart will be racing and sweat beads will be forming in no time.

Low Impact: For those of you suffering from knee/joint pains, shin splints, or arthritis, spin is a great alternative to the physically demanding treadmill. Because your feet will not directly be striking the ground, you will not be adding any extra, possibly damaging, pressure to your joints.

Freedom To Go At Your Own Pace: For those of you who are fans of attending group classes/exercises, I’m sure you may have experienced an instance in which you felt “behind.” Whether its in a aerobic class, salsa class, or kickboxing class, if you miss one beat, step, or punch, you will be out of sync with the rest of the class, and at times, this can be embarrassing! There is a great kickboxing class at my gym and I always hear people rave about what a fantastic workout it is. I went to the class once, and me, being the (very) uncoordinated person I am, couldn’t keep up with the program, not because I was not in shape, but because the combos were too quick for me to pick up. With that being said, one of the greatest things about spin classes is that you will never “fall behind” because you will have total control of your resistance knob and no one will know how light/heavy it is set.

GREAT For Your Heart!: Spinning, being an anaerobic exercise, provides a great cardiovascular workout and therefore, promotes overall good health. Cardio reduces the risk of heart attacks, aids in those with high cholesterol, increases lung capacity, and releases endorphins to make you feel GOOD.

Get AWESOME, Shaped Legs (and Butt): Spinning uses large, leg muscles, those that you would not use if simply running or using the elliptical. After a few months of consistently attending spin class, I noticed a HUGE improvement in my thighs, hamstrings, and BUTT!!

Core/Ab Workout : A muscle group that is often overlooked when one thinks of spin is one’s core/ab muscles. Whether one is sitting in the saddle of the bike or out of the saddle, you will be using your core muscles for support. You may not feel that you are getting an ab workout while spinning, mainly because your focus will be concentrated on your legs, but trust me, your core/abs are doing work as well!

¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨

I have a LONG day ahead of me and I know that today is not one of those days that I can skip my coffee. Why pay $3.50+ for a small cappuccino at your local coffee house? Here’s a healthier, and cheaper version! Now that I have my coffee (with my potassium + protein included), it’s time to GO GO GO!  

 

Iced Bananaccino 

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup organic, fair trade coffee (cooled in the fridge, preferably for at least a hour)
  • 1 cup almond milk (or other non-dairy milk of choice)
  • 1 tbsp cacao powder (cocoa powder would work too)
  • 1 1/2 tbsp agave nectar
  • 1 banana (frozen)
  • 1 cup ice cubes
  • Pinch of cinnamon and nutmeg

Directions:

  • Add all ingredients to your blender and blend until smooth.
  • Pour it into a cup and put it in the freezer for ~5 minutes (optional, this will just make it more of a ‘frappacino-consistency’
  • Top!

Toppings (optional):

  • Piece of dark chocolate
  • Powdered Sugar for dusting
  • Cinnamon for dusting
14 responses to “Go, Go, Go!

  1. I am definitely trying this tomorrow! I’m so sick of regular old coffee ): This will wake me up for sure! Thanks for the recipe!

  2. I’m always “scared” of getting huge muscles… That’s why I’ve been sticking to daily running on the treadmill for like two years now. I’m in shape but sometimes I wish my legs were more defined. Don’t you get to big leg muscles of spinning?
    btw great recipe, I LOVE everything including coffee and I kep trying out new things daily 😉

  3. I love it! I’ve learned (from you!) that it’s always a good idea to have frozen bananas/berries in the freezer! I can’t wait to try out this bananacchino! I’ve been off fraps for a while now because of their ridiculous amounts of sugar n artificial junk.

  4. Pingback: Post pictures of food you've made! - Page 14 - OwnagePranks Forum·

  5. Discovered your blog after Chriselle posted it on FB. Tried this banana coffee smoothie this morning and I love it! Nice way for me to get off dairy as well. 🙂

    Also, I don’t always have cold coffee on hand but I wanted to share with you and your readers that I used Starbucks instant VIA that dissolves in cold water and it worked great.

    Thanks, @ItsMeCoffeeGirl

  6. Pingback: Iced Bannanccino Version #2 | Eye It. Try It.·

  7. This looks amazing! I have to give it a try (even though its getting cool now!)
    And for the record, I absolutely adore your blog! 🙂 all the recipes are so healthy and fun

  8. Pingback: A New Routine « It's Blissfully Written·

Leave a Reply

