CCCC(P)

Jessica Seinfeld. She’s famous for putting unexpected ingredients into our everyday meals and having them taste superb. In her book Deceptively Delicious, one of her most popular recipes among readers are her brownies with broccoli mixed into the batter. Sounds absolutely, totally disgusting right? But I promise you, you can’t even taste them! I read a blog post awhile back from Work It Mom, where she had mentioned her experiment with Jessica Seinfeld. Then, a friend of mine told me she tried making these cookies, PACKED with protein and fiber and I knew I immediately needed to try them. I however, made a few adjustments to Jessica Seinfeld’s recipe. The secret ingredient? Hint: its a vegetable….


It’s surprisingly light & nutty..


Are you ready to start guessing? I will give you a total of 5 clues/hints….

Hint 1: They’re a GREAT source of protein. In just one cup, they deliver almost one quarter of the recommended daily protein needs.


Hint 2: They’re rich in dietary fiber. One cup of these, provides s almost half of the recommended daily allowance of dietary fiber.


Hint 3: Rich in iron, which aids in the transportation of oxygen through the blood. This “secret ingredient” contains  3 mg per one cup serving.


Hint 4: Loaded with the minerals potassium and maganese, which plays a crucial role in energy production.

Hint 5: Good source of folate, a vitamin which is important for women during pregnancy and childbearing. “Consuming adequate levels of folate prior to pregnancy can prevent certain birth defects.”

Can you guess what it ?…………….

Chickpeas (Garbanzo Beans)!!!!!!!!

Warning: you may experience a sense of guilt because your taste buds and your brain will tell you that you’re indulging in real chocolate chip cookies. But rest assured, they’re GOOD or you.

These are GREAT if you have a couple of picker eaters on your hand. My aunt as three little boys and she’s always complaining that its near to impossible to get them to eat there veggies. In fact, she claims that its hard to get them to eat anything besides sweets (i.e. brownies, cookies, candy, etc). I can’t wait to tell her about this recipe so that she’ll sleep better knowing that she’s giving her kids cookies packed with wholesome ingredients. I seriously LOVE this dessert…the garbanzo beans gives it a creamy, almost peanut buttery taste and texture.

CCCC(P): Chickpea Chocolate Chip Cookie Pie 

Recipe from Chocolate Covered Katie (she has some FANTASTIC recipes for all you cursed with a sweet tooth)! I substituted her canola oil with coconut oil and reduced the amount of brown sugar.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cans white beans or garbanzos (drained and rinsed)
  • 1 cup quick oats
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 3 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 and 1/4 cups brown sugar
  • 1 cup dark chocolate chips (carob/cacao chips would be a healthier alternative)

Directions:

  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  • Blend everything (except the chocolate chips) very well in a food processor (blender will work too)
  • Pour batter into a large bowl and mix in the chocolate chips.
  •  Pour the batter into a non-stick/well-greased circle pie pan (I used a 10in diameter pan)
  • Stick your finger in the batter and taste it (it’s 100% vegan which means 100% safe to eat). Its DELICIOUS!
  • Bake for ~30- minutes. Remove from oven and allow it to cool for ~15 minutes.

Serving Ideas:

  • For Dessert: Serve it warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on the side
  • For Breakfast: Enjoy it in the morning (it’s delicious warm AND cold) served it with fresh fruit or frozen fruit(I topped mine with frozen fruit microwaved in the oven to make a natural syrup)
  • With Greek yogurt: Crumble some of the cookie on top of greek yogurt and enjoy!
29 responses to “CCCC(P)

  1. GREEEAT recipe! It’s cooking in the oven right now, and the raw batter tasted very good. Can’t wait to try the baked product!

      • My family enjoyed this for dessert with berries and nobody could taste the chickpeas! Definitely a keeper 🙂 Thanks for all your great recipes! This isn’t the first I’ve tried 🙂

  2. I’m so going to do this. I don’t know when since my next goal is to do a tiramisu. But i’m still going to do it.

    How much calories per servings ? Im being careful about what i’m eating

  3. i LOVEE your blogs! i check them 4-5 times a day! love love love them! cant wait to try these recipes in july!!

  4. Wow! I’m definitely making these. Possibly tonight. If I don’t have applesauce in the house, can I use 1/4 butter as a direct replacement? I realize that’s probably disregarding the reason for omitting it in the first place …

  5. Hey Jane,

    I am quite new on your blog, and there are so many yummy recipes here that I just can’t decide which one to try next…so I will just try all of them one after the other…:-))

  6. hello. i stumbled upon ur blog b/c im a huge fan of michelle phan, then i discovered ur sis, and now you! wow, i love your blog, i am kinda addicted, lol, i check for updates several times a day! it takes alot for me to want to try new stuff b/c if i have to buy something that i will only use in one recipie, im less likely too b/c im worried id be left with a bunch of extra ingredients. what i loved about this recipie is that all the ingredients are somehting i can readily use in something else. i made it in a blender and it was very, very thick, so i ended up having to add 2/3 cup of water just to try and blend and smooth everything so that it would be a smooth consistency. its baking right now… sooo excited to try it when its cooled. i snacked on the batter and the extra chocolate chip cookies… yum!!!!!! jane, i love ur blog!!!!!!! can’t wait to see more stuff!

    • Thanks Veronica, that is SO sweet of you and I am so happy your are enjoying the the recipes! I know that when I baked my CCCC(P), my batter was very thick as well but it came out perfectly when done baking. Let me know how yours turns out with the water added =)

      • it turned out alright, the flavors were good, the texture was interesting… it didnt quite look like yours, i think if i had used a bigger pan to bake in it would have been fine. ill still munch on it through out the week b/c if i have a sugar craving, eating the CCCC(P) would be much better than gorging on chocolate or other sweets!
        thanks so much for responding. im looking into investing in a food processor, ive always wanted one and i will be moving out on my own soon for a new job, so i think i will treat myself to a food processor and i cant wait to try some of ur other recipies… ur cookie dough bites look mighty tempting… i love raw cookie dough, but my mom always scolds me for eating it b/c of the raw eggs, so ur recipie doesnt have any and they look soo good (and healthy too!)

        keep up the great work! u are really inspiring me to try more stuff. ur pics are simply gorgeous, i love how bright and colorful the food turns out and taking mutltiple pics of it is fantastic! I sure hope u will be updating ur blog with this weekends adventue and ur new york trip.

  7. I tried this recipe and it came out delicious! I didn’t have coconut oil on hands so I used coconut flakes, and added a couple more tablespoons of applesauce. I also added ½ cup of water because I felt the batter was a bit too thick (it wouldn’t blend in my blender, so adding a bit of water was the only solution I had) . It came out perfect. It was crispy on the outside, soft and chewy on the inside. DELICIOUS! Thank you for this great recipe! I put a dollop of Greek yogurt on top and some apple slices on the side, OH SO GOOD!

    PS. Just want to point out to anyone trying this recipe, the hot fresh-baked pie will have a taste of chickpeas. Just wait for it to cool down or wait overnight, the taste will magically disappear and you can’t taste the chickpeas at all.

  8. Looooooovvveeee this recipe!!! Amazing! What a surprise no one will ever guess beans are the main ingredient! Thank you for sharing! Should this be refrigerated???

      • Thank you, you’re the best! My husband swooned over this recipe…he was totally fooled and thought it was indulgent with butter. He was thrilled to find out it was actually good for him…the beans blew his mind. So needless to say, we are busy trying some of your other recipes. I’m glad K(2) – karena and katrina – introduced me to you by using your recipes on their site! Thanks again for your prompt response.

  9. I made this recently and it is my favorite current recipe!! it tasted just like cookie and i could not recommend this recipe more. So Yummy!!

  10. YUGOGIRL – recommended this to me!!! LOVE IT!!!! It also fooled my husband he try to guess what was in it (but couldn’t) and he loved it!!! Thanks – love your site – looking forward to making many other things – he did tell me the other night – I just wish you could make raw cookie dough for me to eat……
    and wa-laa – i should him your site!!! ESP. the recipe cookie dough bites (surprising him with that tonight) Thank You!!

  11. Pingback: Spinach…Ice Cream ?! | Eye It. Try It.·

  12. I just made this and definitely couldn’t stop eating it! Such a great recipe! I cannot wait to try more of your recipes.

  13. This looks great! But I was wondering, how many servings in this recipe? I put in all the ingredients/quantities into MyPlate and it seems on the unhealthy side (other than the fiber…)

    For the entire dish: Cals 3580. Fat 125 g. Sodium 4112 mg. Carbs 609 g. Fiber 59 g. Protein 62 g. Sugars 123 g .

    So even if it makes 6 servings that’s still pretty high. I know this is more of a treat, but it’s still important to realize how many calories/sugars/carbs that add up with a dish like this.

    • Leila, yes it is a high-calorie dish, mainly because garbanzo beans/chickpeas are very high in calories, at the same time being incredibly high in protein. I would save that this makes ~10 good sized servings. Because of the richness of the dish, a very small slice is very filling and satisfying =)

  14. Pingback: Black Bean Brownies « chocolatecoveredgrapes·

  15. Pingback: Immer diese Plörre | Mad as a Hatter·

  16. Pingback: How to Host a Healthy Dinner Party | Eye It. Try It.·

  17. I LOVE that this recipe has no wheat flour in it! I’m gluten intolerant so if I use “gluten-free” oats, I can actually eat these. Can’t wait to make them! I sooo miss gooey chocolate chip cookies. 🙂

  18. This is so good.. I was worried at first but It tastes just like a cookie that has just come out of the oven! My whole family loves it…..the only downside is i have a HUGE family….I will definetly be trying more recipes!

Leave a Reply

