New York..Booked!

SOOO I finally Booked my ticket to NEW YORK!! The Big Apple. “The city that never sleeps.  America’s Mecca. The Empire City. There is a reason why this enchanting city attract millions of visitors from around the world. While planning out my trip, I came across a website that I got a good chuckle out of. On Gawker I found a list of “123 Reasons to Love New York Right Now.”After reading through ALL 123 reasons, I found these three to be the most accurate/comical.

#36. Because “road trip” just means Ikea.

#96. Because it’s perfectly fine to answer your phone mid-sentence.

109. Because everyone drinks at brunch.

For all you New Yorkers, or those of you familiar with the city, please give me your recommendations for what I should go see, what I should do, and course,  where I should eat!

Here are some photos from my trip to New York around the same time last year!

Does this not look like a movie-set? So beautiful.

Cafe Café Habana in Nolita. BEST Cuban food and grilled corn in town. Sadly my camera died right before our food (and sangria) came out.

At our friends amazing street fair, Hester Street Fair. They had a beautiful collection of vintage jewelry and I found myself a pair of vintage YSL earrings to take home with me. Can’t wait to go back this time around.

Gosh, New York makes Los Angeles look so litttttle!

For dinner tonight….

Veganized Tamale Pie

Adapted from Peas and Thank You   Serves ~6-7

For the filling:

  • 1 medium onion (chopped)
  • One 8 oz. package tempeh (crumbled)
  • 2 cloves garlic (minced)
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1/2 t. salt
  • 2 tsp red wine vinegar
  • 1 tsp maple syrup
  • One 14 oz. can tomato sauce
  • One 15 oz. can pinto beans (drained & rinsed)

For the crust:

  • 2/3 cup cornmeal
  • 1/3 cup whole wheat flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup soy milk
  • 1 tbsp maple syrup
  • 2  tbsp unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 cup frozen corn kernels (defrosted)
  • 1/3 c. organic cheddar cheese (I didn’t have so I substituted with goat cheese)

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  • In a large, well-greased skilled over medium-high heat, add onions and sauté until softened (~4-5 minutes)
  • Crumble tempeh into the pan and cook for ~2-3 minutes.
  • Add garlic, chili powder,salt, vinegar, maple syrup, tomato sauce and beans. Stir while cooking for another ~4-5 minutes.
  • Transfer mixture to a well-greased baking dish.
  • In a separate bowl, combine all ingredients, EXCEPT CHEESE, needed for the crust (listed above).
  • Pour corn crust mixture on top of the filling in the baking dish.
  • Sprinkle the cheese on the top.
  • Bake for ~20 minutes.
5 responses to “New York..Booked!

  1. I LOVE when I read through your ingredients and see that I have everything to make it! 😛 I’m going to give this a try this weekend. I’ve been meaning to open up those Tempeh packages. Have fun in New York! I stumbled across this link last night- street fairs on Google Maps. http://tinyurl.com/3g24gyk

  2. Hey! I live in Switzerland and I travel to NY on july 2. First, I’m going to stay there with a friend but then I will be on my own from july 6 – 9. When will you be there? Just in case you wanna do some kind of a fan meet-up hihi 😀 Jasmin alone in NY… Sounds exciting but also a bit scary … :S

    • Hey Jasmin, if our trips did somehow overlay, I would have totally loved to meet up, but unfortunately I will only be there till the end of June =( I hope you have an amazing vacation though!

Leave a Reply

