10 Motivational Tips for Beginning Runners

For me, running is the most rewarding form exercise. Many of you have been asking if I’ve always been a runner and the answer is “NO!” I actually did not start running until about two years ago, and I would still not consider myself a great runner. I began running as a form of exercise and didn’t think of it as anything else but that. The more I practiced, the better I got and the more I enjoyed it. However I know from experience that for the novice and beginner runners, lacing up those running shoes and hitting the pavement (and even treadmill) could be very scary so here are some quick motivation tips for those beginner runners!

10 Motivational Tips for Beginner Runners: 

  1. Sign up for a race as soon as possible (a 5k/3.1mi race is a perfect start).
  2. Find a committed running partner that can encourage and motivate you on the days you need an extra push.
  3. It gets easier.
  4. Accept the fact that not every single run can be a good one and don’t except that ever run will be better than your last.
  5. Do not compare yourself to others. Run for and compete against yourself first.
  6. Don’t think too much about it (form, distance, exhaustion) or you won’t do it. Don’t wait to feel like you’re “in the mood,” but rather just put on your sneakers and GO!
  7. If you’re used to running with tunes, try skipping the music one day and listen to your feet, breath, and heart rate.
  8. Do bit be discouraged if you don’t lose weight immediately. Remember, running is not an excuse to eat three servings of dessert after dinner because no amount of exercise can out beat a bad diet!
  9. Start  running log and record your progress
  10.  LISTEN TO YOUR BODY! If you wake up feeling ill, unbearably sore, etc., take a day or two off to rest and recover.
After a great morning of sweating in Body Pump class, I was looking forward to coming home and eating this great post-workout breakfast!
This pudding is a great on-the-go breakfast or snack. Ooey0gooey and a bit sticky!
It is good cold or, if it’s a chilly morning and you’re in the mood for something hot to warm your stomach, you can heat it up in the microwave for 45 seconds.
I had a second serving but this time with toppings!

Overnight Banana Almond Pudding

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp raw almond butter
  • 1 ripe banana (mashed)
  • 1/4 cup almond milk (sweetened or unsweetened will work)
  • 1 tbsp shelled flax seed
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds

Directions:

  • Combine all remaining ingredients and stir until well-incorporated (make sure the banana is well mashed and mixed).
  • Store in a plastic tupperware or container and fridge  overnight.
  • Enjoy right from the fridge (heat in the microwave for 45 seconds to enjoy warm or enjoy it as is)!
  • TOP!
3 responses to “10 Motivational Tips for Beginning Runners

  1. thanks for the running tips.. because of this blog ive actually started doing cardio workouts again it was hard at first.. but its just mind of matter..! ill be starting to cook more of your foods once i move out.. (its harder to cook @ home only because of the foods that my mom makes lol.. she doesnt like it when i dont eat her food which always tends to be super oily and fatty and also the same things again.. meat rice meat rice…)

  2. Great post, Jane! I especially like #5 because I tend to do that. The breakfast recipe looks yummy, too! And so easy. I love your overnight recipes because it means there’s NO EXCUSE to not eat a good breakfast every morning. 🙂

  3. Thanks Jane 🙂 I recently found your blog through Chriselle’s blog and I’m loving it! I really have been struggling to find a balance in my diet and exercise. Right now i’m at the point where i’m not doing any exercise or controlling my diet. Should I control my diet first or start exercising first?
    Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

