Because Who Doesn’t Love Dairy Queen…

I LOVE ice cream, frozen yogurt, but most of all, Dairy Queen’s soft serve blizzard. When it comes to fast-food soft serves, Dairy Queen’s Blizzard trumps over  McDonald’s McFlurry or Wendy’s Frosty. Blizzards are a mechanically-blended soft serve with various toppings and add-ins mixed in. Toppings range from every candy to possibly hit the shelves of any convectional market, all sorts cookies,  fruit (although the fruit is hardly as delicious as the chocolate and cookies), and any other sunday-style fare.

Although absolute, pure bliss while eating, I just can’t eat these things without feeling really, really guilty after my last bite. The nutrition facts below are for the large blizzard treats and although you could opt for the small size, it is very unlikely (at least for me) that I would choose anything less than a 16oz blizzard (I could probably eat 2. Yes, I love them that much).

Nutrition Facts for Blizzard Treats: 

  • Banana Cream Pie Blizzard (Large): 1090 Calories
  • Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup Blizzard (Large): 1060 Calories
  • Butterfinger Blizzard (Large): 990 Calories
  • Georgia Mud Fudge Blizzard (Large) 1340 Calories
  • Chocolate Xtreme Blizzard (Large): 1420 Calories
  • Georgia Mud Fudge Blizzard (Large) 1340 Calories
  • Cookie Dough Blizzard (Large): 1020 Calories

Frightening, yes?

So I attempt making my own.

If you’re craving something sinful (really sinful in this case), there is always a healthier alternative to satisfy your craving.

They actually taste like real cookie dough!

You can make your cookie dough bites as small or big as you want. Next time, I will definitely try to make them smaller so that I can throw more into my soft serve. 
Store these little balls in the freezer and enjoy them anytime during the day for a sweet snack.

Now, this is what I call a sin-less treat.  

Raw Cookie Dough Bites 

Adapted from Oh She Glows and Love Veggies and Yoga

Ingredients:

Yields ~15 bite size balls

  • 1/2 cup raw unsalted cashews
  • 1/4 cup rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 2 1/2 tbsp  maple syrup
  • 1/2  tbsp agave syrup
  • 1/4 cup dark chocolate chips

Directions:

  • In a food processor, add all ingredients (except chocolate chips) until well combined.
  • Remove into a large bowl and add the chocolate chips. With your hands, form small, bite size balls.
  • Store in the freezer.

Cookie Lover’s Blizzard 

Ingredients:

  • 2 small or 1 large frozen banana (cut into pieces)
  • Splash of almond milk (or other non-dairy milk)
  • 2 tbsp cookie dough (from above)

Directions: 

  •  In a food processor, add chunks of frozen banana.
  • Process bananas, stopping to scrape down the sides of the bowl as necessary.
  • Add  cookie dough (before stored in freezer) and process until combined and yields a soft serve-like consistency  (you can process it with less time if you prefer it chunky).
  •  Top with more cookie dough bites
29 responses to “Because Who Doesn’t Love Dairy Queen…

    • The cookie dough bites can be stored in the freezer and they’ll be great in the morning. The banana soft serve will most likely freeze if stored in the freezer overnight but you can always freeze it and allow it to thaw, but it will def. not have the same soft serve-like consistency =)

      • I was thinking about storing it in the fridge because I don’t wanna wake up my brother and parents with the nice sound of the food processor ;D I’m just like you, always up early haha! thank you for your answer!

  1. I used to read your sister’s blog, but your blog is awesome. More in my field (I’m overly obsessed with food) and these snacks look AWESOME! I’ll try them as soon as possible.
    However, I don’t have agave syrup and I’m not sure where to find it in Canada. Would honey be a good alternative?

    http://www.misspingouin.com
    Le blog d’une mangeuse compulsive

    • try any health food store or even loblaws (or their sub companies like atlantic superstore/etc) has agave syrup, flavored even. Just remember to check the health food sections. Usually around other sweeteners (honey, maple syrup, demerara sugar, molasses etc.. )

    • If you have a David’s Tea location around you, they also sell Agave syrup since they use that as the sweetener in their tea’s instead of sugar =)

  2. Pingback: De retour à Montréal | Miss Pingouin·

  3. Pingback: Back to Montreal | Miss Pingouin·

  4. i just made this!!!!It was wonderful……………im soooo addicted to it!!!!thanks jane =D

  5. Omigosh!!! Truely & sinfully good!! If bananas weren’t $13 kilo in Queensland I’d make it more often.

    • Although bananas are the only thing that will give you the real “soft-serve” consistency, any type of frozen fruit would be tasty!

  6. Made these for hubby – he loved them – and I did also!!!!
    Thanks for the yummy, and healthy treats!!

  7. I just made the cookie dough bites and they were so delicious and easy. I thought they were going to stick to hands when I had to make the balls but they didn’t! They were really easy and I’ll definitely be making them again along with trying out your other dishes 🙂

  8. Its like you read my mind! You seem to know so much approximately this, such as you wrote the e book in it or something. I believe that you just can do with a few % to power the message house a bit, but other than that, this is magnificent blog. An excellent read. I will certainly be back.

  9. Hi there. I’m currently in the middle of making your raw cookie dough bites but have found that the blended ingredients do not form into easy manageable small balls. What can I do to combat this? I’ve put in the freezer some small ones that are wrapped in cling film but I don’t think they will form into balls if I take them out later.
    Thanks for reading and I hope you reply!! X

    • Hey Jeanie, are you putting the recommended amounts of syrup/agave? This usually happens if there is not enough liquid sweetener (honey/maple syrup/agave), if you cont. to have this problem, don’t be afraid to add a little more liquid sweetener to use as a binder =)

  10. OMG I need to try this!! Now I have a lot of new ideas for snacks and smoothies for vacation!

  11. Excellent post. I was checking continuously this blog and I am impressed! Extremely helpful information specifically the last part 🙂 I care for such info much. I was looking for this certain information for a long time. Thank you and best of luck.

Leave a Reply

