Need Motivation to Run on a Sunday

Today has definitely been a LAZY Sunday thus far. Last night before getting into bed, I had set my alarm clock to 6am, committing myself to a morning run, but for once, I slept in. I stayed in bed listening to music, drinking coffee, and browsing through blogs until 9am! After a few hours working on my computer with a quick bowl of cereal for breakfast (yes, it was a very lazy morning), I finally got myself to get into my running clothes. Once I hit the road, I was able to shake off my laziness and run for a good 5(ish) miles. I made a new playlist and fully enjoyed it. It was a good mix of rap, pop (yes, I listen to Miley Cyrus), and rock. Today’s playlist had a lot of songs with high BPM (beats per minute), which kept me running at quite a fast pace. Here are a couple of songs on my new playlist:

Need Motivation to Run on a Sunday Playlist:  (and this is what I really did name my playlist LOL)

  • Bleed It Out- Linkin Park
  • Wavin’ Flag (FIFA World Cup Anthem 2010)- K’naan
  • Four Kicks- Kings of Leon
  • In The Middle- Jimmy Eats World
  • Get Over It- The Eagles
  • Higher- Creed
  • Untouched- The Veronicas
  • Put Them Up- Edum
  • Brazil- Deadmau5
  • Mojito Song- Roberto Abigail
  • On The Motorway- Metronomy
  • Ain’t My B*tch- Metallica

I must be in a Fall/Halloween mood these days because I’ve been baking with A  LOT of pumpkin! But the way I see it, there’s no season distinctions when it comes to fun, healthy baking! Pumpkin is incredibly versatile. Many people think of pumpkin puree only when thinking of pies and sweets but in actuality, it’s useful for much more than that, including smoothies, soups/porridges, COCKTAILS (I’m definitely going to have to look into this), pasta fillings, potpies, etc. I will be experimenting with more savoury pumpkin dishes in the future, but for now, here’s a quick, easy, and fabulous treat to satisfy your sweet tooth. Maybe for dessert with a glass of white wine after dinner? Hmmm…

This batter is SO tasty. I’m pretty sure i ate at least 1/4th of the batter straight out of the bowl!

Mixing wet and dry ingredients separately ensures that the batter will be consistent and well-incorporated.

You may need to use your fingers to smooth the batter and because they’re vegan, feel free to lick the batter off your fingers!
 These ‘cupcakes’ are perfect a perfect on-the-go breakfast, a healthy snack to pack in your kid’s lunch, or a guilt-less dessert for those late night cravings.

You can see the ‘brownie’ and pumpkin layers, how fun! 
I love baking vegan with pumpkin, it is SO versatile.

Layered Pumpkin Pie Brownies  

Adapted from Oh She Glows

Makes ~10 medium sized ‘cupcakes’

Ingredients:

 Brownie Layer:

  • 1 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1/2 cup + 2 tbsp sugar
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil, softened
  • 3/4 cup white white flour
  • 2  tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp cornstarch
  • 1/4 cup dutch processed cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda

Pumpkin Pie Layer:

  • 1 cup canned pumpkin
  • 2 tbsp cornstarch
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 3 tbsp almond milk
  •  1 1/2  tsp cinnamon + 1/2 tsp ginger + 1/4 tsp nutmeg

*Shaved chocolate for garnish

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350F
  • In a large bowl, make the brownie layer. Mix all ingredients until well-incorporated. In a well-greased muffin pan, place ~2 tbsp of the batter into each cup and use your fingers to smooth it out.
  • In another bowl, make the pumpkin pie layer. Mix all ingredients until well-incorporated. Add ~1.5-2 tbsp of batter on top of the brownie layer in the muffin pan. Again, use your fingers to smooth the batter out.
  • Garnish with grated chocolate (be as generous with the chocolate as you’d like)
  • Bake for 30 minutes (until toothpick comes out clean).
  • Remove from oven and cool for at least 30 minutes at room temperature
  • Move it to the fridge to chill for ~2 hours before serving.

5. Serves approx 8-10. I made 8 large cupcakes and 2 small ones (for kids). Enjoy with vegan vanilla ice cream.

9 responses to “Need Motivation to Run on a Sunday

  1. This looks sooo delicious! Are those carob chips? My local self-serve froyo joint offer carob chips as a topping and after having read your recipies I’ve been guilty as to putting on a couple scoops too many! whoops!

  2. These look fantastic, however, is there a substitute for coconut oil. I am the only one in my family that enjoys the flavor od coconuts. Thanks for the inspiring recipes.

Leave a Reply

