Cookies for Breakfast

I’ve never been a fan of muffins. In line at a hotel breakfast bar or even when choosing a on-the-go breakfast at Starbucks, my eyes will always skip over. the muffins (yes, even the double chocolate chip ones). If I was going to go for the sweets, I would always choose the cookie over the muffin, but I don’t just like any cookies, I like the soft, almost cake-like cookies. As a kid, my mom would swat my hand away from the cookie jar when I attempted to skip breakfast and grab a few to-go cookies on the way out the door for school (she made the best oatmeal raison cookies). As an adult now, I still have mornings where all I want is a large cookie with my coffee and this is where I draw my inspiration from for this mornings breakfast….

Packed with fiber, this is the perfect hybrid between a cookie and breakfast muffin.

NO oil-NO eggs-NO butter

The dense, cake-like moisture comes from the softened apples and mashed bananas, while the walnuts and oatmeal add a nutty bite.


Originally I wanted to call these “Breakfast Apple Pie Cookies” but  after taking one bite into these  dense/cake-like ‘cookies’ I found their texture similar to traditional muffins, so they’ve been dubbed ‘Muffin’ Cookies.  

To get the round “muffin top”  cookie shape desired,  you can use a muffin top baking pan (if you watch Seinfeld, these should sound familiar). Don’t be alarmed by the word “muffin top,” they are just another term for baking and these definitely will NOT give you a muffin top =)

Apple Pie Muffin Cookies 

adapted from Addicted to Veggies

Makes ~ 17-20 small muffin cookies

Apple Mixture

  • 2 Granny Smith apples, peeled (1 chopped, 1 grated)
  • 1/4 cup pure maple syrup
  • 1 tbsp fresh lemon juice

Dry Ingredients:

  • 1 + 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup regular oats
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • Pinch of nutmeg

Wet Ingredients:

  • 1 chia egg (1 tbsp chia seed + 3 tbsp water), mixed together and set aside to sit for 5 minutes.
  • 1 tsp  vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup almond milk (other milks would work too)
  • 1 ripe medium banana (mashed)

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper or aluminum foil.
  • In a small bowl, make your chia egg by mixing one tbsp chia with tbsp of water. Allow to sit.
  • Peel two granny smith apples. Finely grate one apple and chop the other apple into small blocks. Throw both into  the pot with maple syrup and lemon juice. Allow it to boil over medium heat for ~5-8 minutes (until apples are tender). Once finished, replace from heat.
  • Mix dry ingredients in a large bowl and set aside. In another bowl, mix your wet ingredients (including chia egg).
  • Combine the wet ingredients, dry ingredients, and the apple mixture.
  • Scoop ~2 1/2 tbsp of the mixture for each ‘cookie’, leave about 2-3 inches between each. The mixture is quite runny in comparison traditional cookies, so you may need to use 2-3 pans to ensure they don’t come out in one, huge piece!
  • Bake for ~15 minutes.
18 responses to “Cookies for Breakfast

  1. Ugh, I love your site/recipes so much! lol I made a trip to Costco yesterday and found some dates-score! I’m going make some bars w/those. And now, this wonderful muffin/cake/cookie goodness! I need to get my hands on some chia seeds ASAP!

  2. This looks so yummy. I plan to use it as a dessert. Just need to know what’s the serving size of these: one or two cookies? and what can I substitute the chia seed for?, where I live I can’t find these. Thanks!

    • you can substitute the ‘chia egg’ for a ‘flax egg’ (1 tbsp ground flax+3 tbsp water) or just a plain egg. This recipes makes ~17-20 small muffin cookies =)

  3. I don’t usually post comments on blogs, but this time I absolutely HAVE to.
    I am so happy your sister posted your blog. I’ve been trying to eat as healthy as possible because of my bad health, but only last a couple of weeks at a time because of being so bored by eating the same food over and over… The food that you post on your blog are so healthy and yummy, that I get so excited to see a new post from you!
    I am so grateful to you and your blog! THANK YOU! 🙂

  4. OMG. I’m making these tonight. I just happen to have all the ingredients at home and I’m in a baking mood this week for some strange reason. Hey, do you think it would work if you put the batter into muffin pans? Not filling it to the top or anything, but just using the muffin pans to help the batter not spread while baking. Hmm…I might try it tonight and let you know how it turns out. Thanks for another great recipe. I really love your blog!

  5. I love your blog. With a couple of recipes you’ve completely changed my approach to food. Thank you!

  6. I really love your recipies! This is the first one I’ve tried.

    What would you recommend on how to store them? I made a batch for my mom, dad, and sister to take on the way to school and work. The night before I noticed they got kind of slimy and were attracting fruit flies. I wrapped them in seran wrap and my mom recently put them in the fridge. Other than that~ love it!

Leave a Reply

