Weekend Health Tips (Part I)

Good morning everyone! It is 8am and I am back in bed. My natural alarm clock woke me up around 6am so I cleaned the house a little and made breakfast. And now, I am back in bed, yes, blogging in bed with a cup of coffee. It feels lovely. I asked a question yesterday (via twitter): “Do you maintain a healthy diet on the weekends or do you let yourself go?”

Believe me, I understand that after working hard all week, you are more than ready for some rest and relaxation. What we need to understand is that we can R&R without compromising our Monday-Friday healthy diets. The weekends are a slippery slope and even one bad decision can set the pace for the rest of your dietary choices that weekend. Before you know it, your mindless weekend binge may have ruined an entire week of healthy eating and exercising, allowing room for guilt and discouragement to creep in. You get back to your diet/exercise routine first thing Monday morning promising yourself that you won’t slip up again the next weekend but when Friday rolls around, the whole cycle starts all over again.

Throughout this weekend, I will be featuring healthy, fun, and delicious recipes that will leave you feeling great about your weekend choices on Sunday night. Now, lets talk about my breakfast this morning…

What is Acai Berry?

“The Acai berry is a fruit that looks very much like grapes, but it is way smaller than a grape. It has a large seed and a small amount of pulp. It is found in the Amazon rain forest. It can be found on large palm trees and grows in a bunch. It grows in bunches like bananas. Acai berry is now seen as another wonder fruit as it brings a lot of nutrients for the body. The Acai berry has been found to be naturally rich in omega fats, electrolytes, proteins, antioxidants, Vitamins A, B1 and E and amino acids.”

Benefits of Acai Berry :
  • Increased Energy
  • Better Digestion
  • Improved Sleep
  • Enhanced Mental Health
  • Stronger Immune System
  • Healthier Skin
  • Youthful Appearance
  • Detoxification Benefits
  • Improved Circulation
  • Healthier Heart
Where to Buy Acai Berry:
Acai Berry frozen pulp packs are sold in most health food stores in the frozen section near the juices or frozen fruit. They come in individual packs, perfect for one serving of a smoothie.

Any kind of granola or nut mixture would be a perfect topping to

I had bought a salad in this clear plastic bowl and decided to save it because its the perfect size for my massive breakfast smoothies/oats. RECYCLE!

Half way through the bowl, I decided to throw in a handful of carob chips. NOW, this is a perfect breakfast! Acai berry bowls are similar to smoothies, very thick smoothies, so thick you need to eat with a spoon.

Acai Berry Power Bowl 

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 packs acai (buy it in the frozen section of health food store)
  • 1 cup froen mixed berries (I used raspberries, blueberries, strawberries and cherries)
  • 1/4 cup apple juice
  • 1/4 cup almond milk (soy/coconut milk would work too)
  • 1 banana
Directions:
  • Throw all ingredients in a blender and BLEND!
  • TOP!

Toppings:

  • 1 cup vanilla almond granola
  • Banana slices
  • Carob chips
6 responses to “Weekend Health Tips (Part I)

  1. I have to admit I’m addicted to Nature’s Path Pumpkin flax seed granola. I have to leave it at work so I don’t finish it at home haha I don’t know why I’ve been neglecting my frozen berries in the freezer. I’m going to start blending them w/greek yogurt before work 🙂

    • YES! Frozen fruit is a staple that I always have in my freezer. Frozen berries are great to throw in smoothies, overnight oats, yogurt parfaits, etc. The possibilities are endless!

  2. omg i have been waiting for this ahhh!!! i love smoothies, i love acai! no more planet smoothie for me i can make it at home now lol

  3. I’ve been wondering what an “Acai bowl” was! I’ve read about them and heard people talk about them, but I never understood. Ah! Now I get it! This looks delicious! Thank you for the great recipe!!

Leave a Reply

