(Vegan) Gingerbread Pumpkin Bread w/Buttercream

Good great morning everyone! Last night my sister and I went to Botegga Louie , one of our favorite restaurants in downtown Los Angeles. I will post pictures of our great night later today, but for now, Breakfast! Although most mornings I prefer oatmeal, yogurt, or a smoothie for breakfast, I got a hunch last night that I will be craving for something different this particular morning. While finishing some work on my laptop last night, I decided to whip together this breakfast/dessert bread. This is a great recipe for all you busy bees who don’t necessarily have time to cook breakfast in the morning. You can bake it the night before, cover it with aluminum foil, and grab a slice to-go on your way out the door!

I have been getting many questions regarding my diet that I’ve been meaning to address. No, I am not 100% vegetarian, nor vegan. I do not eat red meat, nor poultry, but I do indeed eat seafood (and lots of it)! I practice what one would call “pescetarianism,” which is the practice of a diet that includes seafood, but excludes other animals. I do plan on explaining the reasoning behind my dietary choice with greater depth very soon, but I feel that I should take some time to figure the best possible way to define to you my standpoint. Though I do not practice veganism, I have never preferred cow’s milk, nor have I ever fancied eggs, ergo, I enjoy vegan baking at home.

One of the reasons people are hesitant to try out vegan baking is because the thought off baking with the absence of butter, eggs, and dairy seems ludicrous. Conventional baked goods rely on moisture, fat, and leavening to acquire the texture that it has. I am here to pronounce that it is possible to produce these results without the use of animal products. I find that vegan baking is fun, challenging, but best of all, it is 100% safe to eat the batter (if not careful, raw eggs can cause salmonella).

The sweet, earthly and refreshing aroma of coconut oil and its great taste make it an ideal cooking medium.

Typically when baking, one should mix the wet ingredients in one bowl and the dry ingredients in another. Why you may ask? This is done in order to evenly distribute the ingredients and mixing the dry ingredients together first means you don’t have to mix as much once the liquid in added.

Walnut should be toasted in the oven at 350 degrees, but seeing that I was pressed for time, I chose to roast them stove top.

Voilà!

This bread is delectable without the buttercream frosting, but even better with it. You may choose how much of the buttercream you want to spread on your bread, depending on the level of sweetness you prefer.
Slice of “omg I can’t believe its vegan” bread + coffee (w/a splash of soy milk and dash of cinnamon) + Ray LaMontagne = good great morning

(Vegan) Gingerbread Pumpkin Bread w/Buttercream 

Adapted from Oh She Glows (She’s fantastic!)
Ingredients:
  • 1 cup canned pumpkin
  • 3-4 tbsp pure maple syrup
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup coconut oil (or canola oil)
  • 1 Chia egg (1 tbsp chia seeds + 3 tbsp water)
  • 1 2/3 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon + 1/2 tsp nutmeg + 1/2 tsp ginger
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/8 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/2 cup toasted chopped walnuts
Directions:
  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F
  • Lightly spray a regular sized loaf dish with Pam cooking spray
  • Lightly toast the walnuts on stovetop for 5-6 minutes (be careful not to burn). Remove from heat and set aside.
  • Combine the first five ingredients (pumpkin, sugar, maple syrup, coconut oil, and chia egg) in mixing bowl and blend well
  • Combine the rest of the ingredients (whole wheat flour, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, sat, baking powder, cloves) in a separate bowl
  •  Blend the two mixtures together. Stir in the toasted nuts.
  •  Pour the batter into the loaf dish and bake for 50-60 minutes or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean.
  •  While cooling, make your buttercream frosting

Buttercream Frosting 

  • 1/2 cup Earth Balance vegan butter
  • 1 3/4 cup confectioner’s sugar (powdered sugar)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp cinnamon + 1/2 tsp nutmeg + 1/2 tsp ginger
  • 1/2 tbsp almond milk
Directions:
  • Whip/blend Earth Balance until smooth
  • Add  rest of the ingredients and blend till smooth

*Be sure that your bread is completely cooled before applying the buttercream frosting. 

13 responses to “(Vegan) Gingerbread Pumpkin Bread w/Buttercream

  1. Jane, this looks delicious. I might have to make this for my mom for Mother’s Day. She loves a good bread and pumpkin bread is one of our favorites. Thanks again for another wonderfully delicious and healthy recipe. ♥

  2. Hi Jane, please could you tell me what Earth Balance is as it is not a brand found in England, many thanks

  3. I have the same diet! I’m a pescatarian, but I don’t like dairy, and I prefer vegan desserts! I’ve been eating like this for the last 4 years, and I’m still trying to improve the food I feed myself (I have a very bad sweet tooth.)

    Thanks so much for the delicious recipes 🙂 Can’t wait to try!

    • In this specific recipe, you can replace the (1 tsp cinnamon + 1/2 tsp nutmeg + 1/2 tsp ginger) with just (2 tsp pumpkin pie spice).hope that helps!

  4. Pingback: 100th-Day Celebration | Eye It. Try It.·

  5. i know this is supposed to be a vegan bread but would replacing the “vegan” with actual eggs and etc work as well because this looks really good, i’m just not adventurous enough yet

Leave a Reply

