Cha-Cha-Cha Chia

Good morning everyone! As I had mentioned in my last post, I had friends from out of town over last night for some dinner, wine, and game 1 of Lakers-Mavericks playoffs. Although we lost the game, it was really great catching up with my best friend Keyan, who has been in Korea for the past two weeks. We chatted for what seems to be 30 minutes, and the next thing I knew, it was was 4am! I am strong believer that being consistent with your diet and workout routine is essential, however I also believe that above all, one needs to listen to his/her own body (I will be doing post on this soon). That being said, I obviously was not planning on going doing my normal 5-7am morning workout. We are going to go to brunch @ Botegga Louie , a very quaint spot downtown, before she heads back to San Diego. I then have to run errands around town, squeeze in a quick mid-day workout and then prepare dinner!

Many of you have been asking me about chia seeds, seeing that I use it in several of my recipes. Here is a basic nutritional breakdown of this power food.

If you haven’t heard of the latest trend in the health food scene, this is one bandwagon you want to quickly jump on! CHIA SEEDS. The popularity of chia seeds, which come from chia fruits, is quickly becoming widespread because of their incredibly high nutritional value. I add chia seeds to practically all my breakfasts (i.e. yogurt parfait, oatmeal, green monster, fresh squeezed juice, etc.)!

Health Benefits: 

  • High in protein 
  • Extremely high levels of essential fatty acids (i.e. omega-3) make it great for cardiovascular health
  • High levels of fiber work to stabilize blood glucose levels
  • High levels of soluble fibers help retain water, keeping you well-hydrated
  • Digesting slowly, one feels fuller longer which can be an aid to weight loss
  • Increased endurance and longer-lasting energy
  • GLUTEN-FREE

Nutritional Facts (per serving)

via Natural Health Bites

  • 2 times the protein of any other seed or grain
  • 5 times the calcium of milk
  • 2 times the amount of potassium as bananas
  • 3 times more iron than spinach

Way to Include Chia in Everyday Life:

  • Sprinkle on top of salads, soups, sandwiches
  • Add to smoothies and juices
  • Use as a topping for oatmeal, cereal, yogurt
  • Include them in baked goods (i.e. cookies, bread, pancakes, etc.)
  • Make Chia pudding (I will soon be posting a recipe for this)
  • Simply munch on them as a snack

Storing Chia Seeds: 

The ample amount of antioxidants in chia seeds allow them to remain fresh if stored in a glass or air-tight plastic container. Keep the storage container in a pantry or any cool, dark place for maximum. I’m a huge fan of Mason Jars , so I store most of my seeds, grains, nuts in them.

I know you guys are all wondering if Chia Pets (yes, I’m guilty of owning one) are related to chia seeds. The answer is YES. These animal-shaped terracotta figures used to sprout chia! 

2 responses to “Cha-Cha-Cha Chia

  1. You could certainly see your enthusiasm in the work you write. The world hopes for more passionate writers like you who aren’t afraid to say how they believe. Always follow your heart.

  2. Whole heartedly agree with Daily!
    It makes me excited because I’m usually a very enthusiastic gal! Your writing is definitely a cleansing of palate! I love what you’re doing!
    Also, where could we get our hands on this amazing super-food?
    Thanks! xx

Leave a Reply

