Goat Cheese Tortilla Pizza

Living in Los Angeles, I am so accustomed to living life FAST. When I walk out of my loft, I see the Nokia Center, L.A Live, the Staples Center, jam-packed traffic, business men and women rushing to their offices, etc., so when the weekend finally rolls around, I feel at ease, for everything, everyone seems move a little slower. This is precisely why I love my “Slow Saturdays”. On my “Slow Saturdays,” I try to sleep in (although you will rarely find me in bed past 7am), enjoy a delicious breakfast and cup of coffee, participate in a FUN outdoor workout(I usually stay away from the gym on Saturdays and take the workout to the beach, hiking trail, track, etc), and of course cook a especially delicious dinner (if I don’t have prior nighttime engagements). 

While my sister is off taking care of some last minute errands for her styling project, I am prepping a light, yet decadent dinner for the two of us. I had made this dish earlier this week, and it was SO good that I wanted to have it for dinner again! 
Next time you are cutting veggies, try studying their anatomy, their architecture. They are all so unique and beautifully created. 

I absolutely love the taste and fragrance of cooked onions and garlic! When I saute garlic and onions, I often add a splash of white wine to give it more of a fragrance, but I didn’t have an opened bottle in my fridge. Feel free to add some white wine if you wish!

I used Trader Joe’s Whole Grain Flour Tortilla with rolled oats & flax seeds. After using my 2 pieces for my tortilla pizzas, I threw the bag into the freezer. I am a little bit ocd (obsessive compulsive disorder) when it comes to expiration dates and shelf life, so instead worrying about these tortillas going bad before eating them all, I chose to preserve them in the freezer until needed next!

I added a side of fresh green beans for both the decorative effect and of course because green beans are delicious! I would say that green beans are one of my favorite vegetables to eat fresh. Crunchy, refreshing, and PACKED with vitamin-K!

I know that you may worry that this meal isn’t substantial enough and won’t fill you up, but trust me, it will. Feel free to top your pizza with any other veggies of  your liking (i.e. eggplant, grape tomatoes, avocado, arugula, etc.).

This was SO good and guilt-less that I didn’t think twice before grabbing my second ‘whole pizza.’ This time, instead of cutting into pizza-like slices, I tried to fold it over like a taco. Although just as delicious, it was messy and harder to eat. I definitely recommend eating it like a pizza not a taco.

Goat Cheese Tortilla Pizza 

Ingredients:

  • Whole wheat flour tortilla (you can use any tortilla of your choice i.e. spinach, tomato basil, etc.)
  • Tomato sauce (I used a garlic vodka penne sauce but any sauce will do)
  • 1/2 yellow onion
  • 1 cup mushrooms
  • 1 sliced roma tomato
  • 2 cloves garlic (optional)
  • 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tbsp olive oil (or cooking spray to grease pan)
  • Goat Cheese (the ‘it’ ingredient)

Directions:

  • Preheat oven at 350 degrees
  • Slice onions, garlic, mushrooms
  • Heat 1 tbsp of olive oil in a small sauté pan on medium hight heat. Add the sliced onions and garlic, stirring occasionally, until the onions begin to soften and become translucent (about 5-6 minutes)
  • Lower heat and add mushrooms, stirring for another 1 minute
  • Add 1 tbsp of balsamic vinegar and stir. Remove pan from heat
  • Place tortillas on parchment paper and spread tomato sauce
  • Remove any excess water (from the mushrooms) into the sink before adding carmeized onions, garlic and mushrooms on tortillas
  • Sprinkle goat cheese on top of the tortillas
  • Place sliced roma tomatos on tortillas
  • Bake in oven for 13-15 minutes
  • Take it out of the oven and let it cool. Cut it into 4 piece with a sharp knife or kitchen scissors (scissors are easier and neater)

9 responses to “Goat Cheese Tortilla Pizza

  1. you are the one thing i’ve been looking for!! i’ve tried soo many times to find alternativies to eating healthy and in a simple way..! everything you post seems easy to make! i greatly appreciate it! i plan on changing my eating habits and try to incorporate more healthy exercises and alternatives in july! thank you for being such a huge inspiration!!

    please please continue to post forever!!

  2. You would love the fragrance is our house because garlic and onions is my main flavor. I am trying to learn how to cook with different spices.

    I always make tortilla “pizzas”. To me it is just like a soup. You can basically throw anything you want on a tortilla —- yum.

    I do not make my meals as lovely as you do. I need to work on that. As you said somewhere presentation adds to the overall meal.

Leave a Reply

