‘Chocolate’ Pudding (Chocomole?)

So here’s the deal, I have a huge sweet tooth, no joke, HUGE. Cookies, brownies, chocolate cake, gummy bears, peeps, etc., name it, and I’ll probably want to eat it. As I mentioned in my about me , I never took into consideration the waste I was putting into my body until about two years ago. When I started my journey to seek a more wholesome and healthful diet, my cravings for sweets still plagued me. After several failed attempts to give up all things sweet, I came to realize that I was actually setting myself up for failure by constantly denying myself from all forms of sweets. I would go weeks without a piece of chocolate (my greatest weakness), but the temptation for these “forbidden” treats would eventually cause me to binge on a whole box of Oreos (yes, this actually did happen).

I now understand that if your sweet tooth cries out, you need to satisfy it. However, opt for sweets that fill in nutritional gaps rather than sweets packed with empty calories.

As you can see in the photo above, this recipe requires very little ingredients but yields possibly the BEST chocolate pudding you will ever eat. GUARANTEED.

Since my food processor has been out of order for the past few weeks (I need to get it fixed asap), I rely on my Cuisineart Compact-Smoothie Blender  for practically EVERYTHING! If you don’t own a blender, I highly recommend this one. It comes with four travel cups, a chopping cup, but most importantly,  it is compact in size (doesn’t take up much counter space).

The natural sweetness from the dates, creaminess from the avocado, and the roasted bitterness from the carob powder, blend well to create a HEAVENLY treat. I tend to use carob powder in my recipes rather than cocoa powder because carob contains three times as much calcium as cocoa powder. I am a huge “topper,” meaning that I like to pile on healthy toppings on almost everything (oatmeal, yogurt, cereal, quick breads, etc). This chocomole, however, is so decadent, I do not feel the need to top.

Chocomole (Chocolate Pudding) 

adapted from Healing with Raw

Ingredients:

  • 1 large ripe avocado, pitted
  • 8-10 Medjool Dates
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 3 tbsp carob powder (or 4 tbsp of cocoa powder)

Directions:

  • Add all ingredients in the blender (or food processor) and BLEND AWAY until the mixture resembles a thick pudding!
  • **If using a blender, you may need to shake the blending cup several times to ensure that all the chunks are gone)
15 responses to “‘Chocolate’ Pudding (Chocomole?)

  1. I wish i could make this delicious pudding! But i’m from QLD Australia and after the floods in jan, avos arent too great atm 😦 Jane! I saw something similar on Masterchef Aust, but it was avocado chocolate mousse. This looks way more decadent and delish ^^

    • Aw,thanks Nina! I’m sorry to hear that, avocados are just too good to live without! Next post, I’ll try to make sure all ingredients are available to you =)

  2. Pingback: French Banana Roll-Up | Eye It. Try It.·

  3. Pingback: We Love Food Fridays! | Eye It. Try It.·

  4. I just found your blog and can’t wait to try some of these recipes this weekend! Just curious on this recipe… I love avocados, but I’m not so sure about mixing them with chocolate. Have you ever tried bananas instead of avocados? It seems like the consistency would be similar if the bananas were ripe enough.

    Thanks for sharing all of these awesome ideas and recipes!

    • Rebecca, I understand, I was totally skeptical at first about using avocados but if you blend it enough, you can’t even taste the avocado! Avocados are so versatile, it basically blends into whatever flavor overpowers it (in this case, the cacao/carob powder). Using bananas would not give the same outcome but I’m sure that that would be a delicious experiment to try =)

  5. Pingback: Für die Schokoholiker da draußen | Mad as a Hatter·

  6. Pingback: How to Host a Healthy Dinner Party | Eye It. Try It.·

  7. Omg this is so good! I am dairy intolerant and this is such a treat. I didn’t have enough dates so I sweetened with a little maple syrup. I am lucky enough to have an avocado tree in my yard so this will be made quite often I imagine! Thank you so much for the recipe

  8. Hi!
    I have a question, ‘coz I don’t like the Medjool Dates… so
    What can I use instead of them?
    ‘Coz you said that the Medjool Dates gives the sweet

Leave a Reply

